Posted by: twistsoffeet | August 9, 2019

Where I have been and how I am responding to health issues


I do not know why I am and definitely do not know if anyone out there knows or remembers or cares if I tell any more of my story. But here goes anyway.
Back in 2015 or even late 2014 I started having severe pain in my back. This was coupled with brain fog and memory and vision issues. After over a year of dealing with this I ended up in the emergency room nearly in a diabetic coma. On Christmas day no less. I had no Ins. so my Diabetes was undiagnosed prior to this.
Well one diagnoses led to another Dr. and back on Med’s for my R.A. that made my brain fog worse but somewhat made some of my pain better. However I had intense lower back pain extending into my legs. This led to discovery that my R.A. had severely degraded my spine leading to spinal surgery , Then Colon Polyps during a colonoscopy & rushing me back in 5 days later after doing a biopsy on one suspicious polyp showing it was not benign and needed further removal and treatment.
OK life was good went through P.T. learned how to walk again etc after my spinal surgery. Then I woke up 02/02/2018 and had apparently caught some sort of virus that paralyzed me from the neck down. I was rushed to the emergency room put into intensive care and total isolation for a week. The DR’s and every one had to wear full body bio protection in my room.
It was finally determined although they do not know for certain it is believed that a virus that is unknown attacked me.
I started to regain use of my limbs after a few days and was sent to an in house rehab facility where I learned to feed myself and walk and shower and go up stairs. You know lead a normal life, kind of.
Here we are nearly 2/3 of the way through 2019 and some days I walk vey normal at least over short distances. I go to the gym and get on the treadmill ( because I can hang on or grab onto it if I start to fall). I do some resistance training but only machines and only moderate weights. I no longer climb which is one of my deepest truest loves and passions because I do not have the strength, I am terrified of injuring myself further ( I do not recover like I used too) and I still have intermittent sever lower back pain that causes my legs to go out from under me. I could probably do top rope sport climbs but not lead climbing.
I forgot to tell the good part. I June of 2012 I began my Colorado Trail thru hike. I ended up hyper extending my right knee while crossing a creek. While this was obviously a huge impediment to my journey I still managed to nearly complete the 250 miles remaining of my YO-YO of the Colorado trail. When including of trail mileage for re-supply I probably managed 1000 miles of backpacking that summer. I was unable to complete the Yo-Yo due to the hyper extension of my knee forcing me to finally quit near Baily Colorado on the return Yo. It took me about Two months which is obviously not record time but I loved the trip.
The good news I have started to ride my bike again. I do not ride fast and do not ride on roads. I only ride on city trails IE. concrete paths with no motor vehicles that are relatively smooth and safe. I always wear a helmet and sometimes wear other body protection but I have found kneepads etc have made me less stable.
I do fall a lot. Well maybe a lot is a relative term. Some rides I will fall 2 or 3 times in 20-50 or even 100 miles. Other days I can do 50-70 or even 105.71 ( my seasons record) miles without a fall. It goes in streaks, sometimes it is 3 steps forward 1 step back for several cycles then suddenly it is 1 step forward and 5 steps back for 2 or 3 cycles..
I think a lot of my brain fog and dizziness caused falling as well as vision and sleep problems and basically most of my health issues are probably diet related. Keep in mind I have tried to have a pretty good diet previously and in the early 90’s I was strictly plant based on my diet.
I have decided to return to that lifestyle. I am tired of taking med’s for my diabetes which also mean’s taking meds for high blood pressure and cholesterol. even though I have neither high bp or high cholesterol. I am tired of the R.A. meds and all the other meds.
Now just because go plant based & Organic doesn’t mean I do not need any meds but maybe it will get me off some or all decrease dosages. Maybe it will ease some of my pain and my brain fog. Maybe it will help with my dizziness and vision issues.
Going plant based has already helped immensely with sleep issues and it has only been just over 1 week.
I know this doesn’t sound like much of an adventure & it certainly isn’t exciting.
To be honest I am writing this for me and do not expect anyone to read this. It is a record of where I have been & how far I have come & how very much further I have to go. It is to inspire me because sometimes I need reminded of what I have made it through and that I can make it through more.
Maybe there will be some more interesting stories to be told soon.
Un fortunately due to the cataracts and other vision issues writing on this computer is very difficult so all updates will be less frequent, certainly not daily.
But I am not going gracefully into the night, of course I never was graceful.


Leave a comment

Categories