Posted by: twistsoffeet | March 14, 2012

When life hands you lemons…


Last November after 3.5 months of looking for a job I finally got one. I had put in hundreds of applications and went through the qualification testing on a few call backs. I failed 1 of the tests miserably, another I passed with a very good score. Unfortunately there were only 2 positions available and 5 out of the 300+ people who tested were ahead of me on their tests. Finally an old employer called me and made me an offer I couldn’t resist. The position paid pretty good for this economy but I did not really want to do this job again, I had tried to get away from it but since I was in need I took the job. It was supposed to be for 2 months only so it wasn’t hard to do. Later I discovered that not only was I still pretty good at this job but it had changed and I actually liked it. I spoke to my manager and told her that if it became possible I would like to stay permanently and would even commit to not running off around the world on 1 of my adventures. This boss tried to get me on full time and was able to keep me employed for nearly 3 months longer than originally intended. I hoped and all my managers and supervisors tried to make room in the budget for me but alas it was not to be.
Yesterday my manager informed me that the 30th would be my last day on the job. At first I was a little concerned after all I really need this job. But then I kind of kicked back started looking for that door or window that opens when a different door or window closes. My boss told me about a job opening in Manilla Philippines that I could certainly get and too be honest I thought about it seriously. She also suggested relocating to Fl or TX or AZ amongst other places. But I won’t go back to Fl and TX has never interested me and then Az well I just can’t imagine wanting to move there in the summer. So that left me to make my own little plan.
And since I am adopting the mantra of when life gives you lemons make lemonade. I have now decided to live my life doing what I want to do. This job I currently fulfill has made me fat and lazy and my R.A. has taken it’s toll. Now though I have an opportunity to retrace my step’s to my youth, to go back to those places and that life I used to love, and discover new places at the same time.
My plan is to begin backpacking the Colorado trail in Waterton Canyon on 04/17/12 and walk to Durango Co a total of about 480 miles. After arriving in Durango I am going to continue South to the new Mexico border north of Chama NM and walk the Continental divide trail through Colorado North to Wy. At this point I may head to Moab UT or continue north on the C.D.T. through Wy ID and MT all the way to the Canada U.S. Border. My Bicycle ride last summer was huge and major accomplishment physically and emotionally, but this will be different. I have steel in both feet and 1 ankle so walking can be a challenge. Top that with my R.A. and this looks like it will be a huge effort. Still 4-6 months of hiking and camping every day in my beloved Rocky Mountains is my dream or actually my fantasy and I can’t imagine a more beautiful fantasy.
I intend to either take my laptop or downsize to a small tablet because I can’t really do this blog on my smart phone and I really want to share this with everyone. Of course that means I will be feeding off of the energy and comments of my readers ( I hope they all come back). So anyone who wants to follow me feel free to do so. If you wish to comment feel free as well and if you wish to give me advice or send me waves of positive energy I can use both of those.

Leave a Reply

Categories

