Posted by: twistsoffeet | June 10, 2011

Riding With Others


Today is the 1st day I have ridden with other cyclists.

I woke early today after little sleep, due to it being just too hot for a good sleep. I was awake at 5:00 AM, but did not hit the road until 7:00.

It started casually, and I reached a natural spring where I was able to fill my water bottles by 7:30.  I rode another few miles and was resting in the shade to avoid the upper 90 degree temperatures, when a couple on a tour from Erie, PA rode up.

I chatted with Sandy and Leo for a while and ended up traveling the rest of the day with them.  Sandy will be 60 tomorrow and Leo is 59; both are retired and are on a tour from Erie, PA to Astoria, OR.

We ended up riding about 17 miles together and they told me about a hostel at the Eagle’s Club in Chester, IL.  Tomorrow, we will head across into Missouri and head basically north through the Ozarks, towards the Katy Trail.

Our hostel has us sharing a bunk room with a total of six as of now, but two others are apparently on their way. I am going to continue with Leo and Sandy for a few days.

Today I rode 40 miles, and tomorrow who knows.  Tonight I had a great steak and potato, with salad meal, and will sleep in air conditioning!!  Leo says he snores, but so do I, so I don’t think he will be able to keep me awake.

The younger guys in the bunk room are drinking enough beer that they will probably sleep pretty soundly. I need to be fresh tomorrow because I will probably hit a bunch of hills.

Just what I wanted to do.

My arthritis is definitely causing me some problems today; hopefully a good night’s sleep will help.  If not tomorrow will be very long…

Responses

  1. Followed you over here from the comment you left on my blog earlier. What an inspiration you are to all of us with RA! I wished I could join you, but I sold my Cannondale about 6 years ago after I could no longer stand to look at it and not ride it. I will be following your journey, I wish you luck and flat land ahead.

  2. BTW, I meant flat land as in “no hills”, not flat tire land. lol I have been reading about the flats.

    • No worry I knew what you meant. Actually the last few days have been without a flat, knock on wood and hope it continues. I am hoping I can make it to my interim destination in Iowa or longer before I have to switch out my rear tire. Apparently I may have a day of flats then back to the hills for a while. If I rest I will be able to deal with it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

